A Small Farm Future

Either we have a small farm future, or we face collapse and extinction."—Vandana Shiva "Every young person should read this book."—Richard Heinberg In a groundbreaking debut, farmer and social scientist Chris Smaje argues that ...

A Small Farm Future

Author: Chris Smaje

Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

ISBN: 1603589023

Page: 320

View: 896

A modern classic of the new agrarianism "Chris Smaje...shows that the choice is clear. Either we have a small farm future, or we face collapse and extinction."—Vandana Shiva "Every young person should read this book."—Richard Heinberg In a groundbreaking debut, farmer and social scientist Chris Smaje argues that organizing society around small-scale farming offers the soundest, sanest and most reasonable response to climate change and other crises of civilisation—and will yield humanity’s best chance at survival. Drawing on a vast range of sources from across a multitude of disciplines, A Small Farm Future analyses the complex forces that make societal change inevitable; explains how low-carbon, locally self-reliant agrarian communities can empower us to successfully confront these changes head on; and explores the pathways for delivering this vision politically. Challenging both conventional wisdom and utopian blueprints, A Small Farm Future offers rigorous original analysis of wicked problems and hidden opportunities in a way that illuminates the path toward functional local economies, effective self-provisioning, agricultural diversity and a shared earth. Perfect for readers of both Wendell Berry and Thomas Piketty, A Small Farm Future is a refreshing, new outlook on a way forward for society—and a vital resource for activists, students, policy makers, and anyone looking to enact change.

Related Books:

A Small Farm Future
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Chris Smaje
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-21 - Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

A modern classic of the new agrarianism "Chris Smaje...shows that the choice is clear. Either we have a small farm future, or we face collapse and extinction."—Vandana Shiva "Every young person should read this book."—Richard Heinberg In a groundbreaking debut, farmer and social scientist Chris Smaje argues that organizing society
Farms with a Future
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Rebecca Thistlethwaite
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-01-10 - Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

What makes a farm sustainable and successful? And what special qualities and skills are needed for someone to become a successful farmer? Rebecca Thistlethwaite addresses these and other crucial questions in this uniquely important book, which is a must-read for anyone who aspires to get into farming, or who wants
A Small Farm Future
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Chris Smaje
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-22 - Publisher: Chelsea Green Publishing

In a time of looming uncertainties, what would a truly resilient society look like? In a groundbreaking debut, farmer and social scientist Chris Smaje argues that organising society around small-scale farming offers the soundest, sanest and most reasonable response to climate change and other crises of civilisation—and will yield humanity’s
Successful Small-scale Farming
Language: en
Pages: 134
Authors: Karl Schwenke
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 1991-01 - Publisher: Storey Publishing

Instructs the beginning farmer in evaluating and preserving the soil, acquiring and maintaining machinery, and raising a successful crop through sound farming practices
One Small Farm
Language: en
Pages: 128
Authors: Craig Schreiner
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-22 - Publisher: Wisconsin Historical Society

“People’s lives are written on the fields of old farms. The rows of the fields are like lines on a page, blank and white in winter, filled in with each year’s story of happiness, disappointment, drought, rain, sun, scarcity, plenty. The chapters accumulate, and people enter and leave the narrative.