Ada s Ideas

This picture book biography of Ada Lovelace is a compelling portrait of a woman who saw the potential for numbers to make art.

Ada s Ideas

Author: Fiona Robinson

Publisher: Abrams

ISBN: 1613129130

Page: 40

View: 194

Ada Lovelace (1815–1852) was the daughter of Lord Byron, a poet, and Anna Isabella Milbanke, a mathematician. Her parents separated when she was young, and her mother insisted on a logic-focused education, rejecting Byron’s “mad” love of poetry. But Ada remained fascinated with her father and considered mathematics “poetical science.” Via her friendship with inventor Charles Babbage, she became involved in “programming” his Analytical Engine, a precursor to the computer, thus becoming the world’s first computer programmer. This picture book biography of Ada Lovelace is a compelling portrait of a woman who saw the potential for numbers to make art.

Related Books:

Ada's Ideas
Language: un
Pages: 40
Authors: Fiona Robinson
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-08-02 - Publisher: Abrams

Ada Lovelace (1815–1852) was the daughter of Lord Byron, a poet, and Anna Isabella Milbanke, a mathematician. Her parents separated when she was young, and her mother insisted on a logic-focused education, rejecting Byron’s “mad” love of poetry. But Ada remained fascinated with her father and considered mathematics “poetical science.”
Enchantress of Numbers
Language: un
Pages: 448
Authors: Jennifer Chiaverini
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-05 - Publisher: Penguin

New York Times bestselling author Jennifer Chiaverini illuminates the life of Ada Byron King, Countess of Lovelace—Lord Byron’s daughter and the world’s first computer programmer. The only legitimate child of Lord Byron, the most brilliant, revered, and scandalous of the Romantic poets, Ada was destined for fame long before her
Ada Lovelace
Language: un
Pages: 32
Authors: Anna Doherty
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-08-08 - Publisher: Hachette UK

An inspiring, empowering, fantastically feminist and totally true story, perfect for fans of Little People, Big Dreams and Goodnight Stories for Rebel Girls! Meet the remarkable Ada Lovelace: rebellious rule-breaker and maths whizz-kid. Growing up in the shadow of her eccentric superstar father, the poet Lord Byron, and under the
Ada Lovelace, Poet of Science
Language: un
Pages: 40
Authors: Diane Stanley, Jessie Hartland
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-10-04 - Publisher: Simon and Schuster

"A fascinating look at Ada Lovelace, the pioneering computer programmer and the daughter of the poet Lord Byron." --
Ada Byron Lovelace and the Thinking Machine
Language: un
Pages: 40
Authors: Laurie Wallmark
Categories: Computer scientists
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015 - Publisher:

Offers an illustrated telling of the story of Ada Byron Lovelace, from her early creative fascination with mathematics and science and her devastating bout with measles, to the ground-breaking algorithm she wrote for Charles Babbage's analytical engine.