Fender

Here is the book that sets the record straight and dispels the myths about the Fender Electric Instrument Co., a company that forever changed the look, sound, and personality of American music.

Fender

Author: Forrest White

Publisher: Backbeat Books

ISBN:

Page: 258

View: 241

Even though Leo Fender never learned how to play a guitar, he was the first to make the electric solidbody guitar a commercial success. Despite his low-key style and conservative roots, his radical designs for guitars and amplifiers altered popular music forever. Much has been published about the Fender Electric Instrument Co., but Leo always wanted its story to be told "just the way it happened." Now, Forrest White, his friend and only general manager, offers a behind-the-scenes look at this company. In his down-to-earth style, White traces the company's entire history, from Leo's beginnings as a radio repairman up to the eventual sale of Fender to CBS and beyond. In between are stories about the development of the Telecaster, Precision Bass and Stratocaster, as well as insights into Leo Fender's unique personality. Fender: The Inside Story is packed with more than 100 historic photos and illustrations; instrument diagrams and specifications; and anecdotes about artists such as Merle Travis, Bob Wills, Speedy West, and Tex Ritter. Here is the book that sets the record straight and dispels the myths about the Fender Electric Instrument Co., a company that forever changed the look, sound, and personality of American music.

Related Books:

Fender
Language: en
Pages: 258
Authors: Forrest White
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 1994 - Publisher: Backbeat Books

Even though Leo Fender never learned how to play a guitar, he was the first to make the electric solidbody guitar a commercial success. Despite his low-key style and conservative roots, his radical designs for guitars and amplifiers altered popular music forever. Much has been published about the Fender Electric
Gizmos, Gadgets, and Guitars: The Story of Leo Fender
Language: en
Pages: 40
Authors: Michael Mahin
Categories: Juvenile Nonfiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-07 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company (BYR)

The picture book biography of ingenious American inventor Leo Fender, creator of the world’s most iconic Fender electric guitars. For readers who love Iggy Peck, Architect. Leo Fender loved to thinker and tinker and take things apart and put them back together again. When he lost an eye in a
Fender 75 Years
Language: en
Pages: 224
Authors: Dave Hunter
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-09-14 - Publisher: Motorbooks International

Gorgeously illustrated and authoritatively written, Fender 75 Years is the officially licensed celebration of the legendary brand's landmark anniversary, covering all of Fender's iconic guitars, amps, and basses.
Fender Telecaster and Stratocaster
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Dave Hunter
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2020-10-27 - Publisher: Voyageur Press

Celebrate of the history and significance of both the Fender Telecaster and Stratocaster for the company's 75th anniversary in this combined edition of Dave Hunter's two best-selling books! The Fender Telecaster, created in Les Fender's Fullerton, California, workshop and introduced in 1950, is a working-class hero and the ultimate blue-collar
60 Years of Fender
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Tony Bacon
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2010 - Publisher: Hal Leonard Corporation

Fender is the most successful modern guitar maker, and this revised and updated book celebrates 60 years of the company's instruments. It tells the complete year-by-year story of Fender's development from the early years until the present day, accompanied by an unrivalled gallery of colour photographs of instruments, players, and