How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room

How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room offers the latest scientific studies of human behaviour alongside accessible anecdotes to examine the universal human experiences of comparing ourselves to others, the need to belong, the urge to ...

How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room

Author: Jacob Burak

Publisher: Watkins Publishing

ISBN: 9781786780850

Page: 256

View: 760

An inquiry into what it is about our experiences and cultures that brings out the differences and reveals the similarities in us as humans beings, in the vein of Malcolm Gladwell and Daniel Kahneman. Jacob Burak is on a quest to answer the question "are we as human beings, who are separated by different cultures and experiences, similar or different?" Through the lens of behavioural studies, we see how, while our approaches differ and often conflict, we all strive for similar things: love, acceptance, power and understanding. How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room offers the latest scientific studies of human behaviour alongside accessible anecdotes to examine the universal human experiences of comparing ourselves to others, the need to belong, the urge to achieve and the anxiety and uncertainty of life itself. More importantly, Burak shows us how, in understanding these behavioural patterns, we learn that we are actually more alike than we are different; that our rivals often make us stronger; and that being trusting can help us live longer. With his inquisitive nature, logical thinking and engaging style, Burak examines whether it is destiny or personality that controls our lives, through intriguing subjects such as: * What are the ten rules for happiness that are entirely under our control? * Why do smart people make stupid mistakes? * What distinguishes bureaucrats and entrepreneurs? * What are the psychological differences between liberals and conservatives? * In what circumstances is it right to surrender our privacy? * Does it pay to trust people?

Related Books:

How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room
Language: un
Pages: 256
Authors: Jacob Burak
Categories: Cognitive psychology
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10 - Publisher: Watkins Publishing

An inquiry into what it is about our experiences and cultures that brings out the differences and reveals the similarities in us as humans beings, in the vein of Malcolm Gladwell and Daniel Kahneman. Jacob Burak is on a quest to answer the question "are we as human beings, who
How to Find a Black Cat in a Dark Room (especially when there is no cat)
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Jacob Burak
Categories: Body, Mind & Spirit
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-10-19 - Publisher: Watkins

Drawing on his personal story, interviews and the latest scientific research Jacob Burak is on a quest ‘to reduce the amount of noise in his life’, the noise that comes from constantly comparing ourselves to others; the need to belong; the urge to achieve; and the anxiety and uncertainty of
New Scientist
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jacob Burak
Categories: Electronic journals
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher:

Books about New Scientist
Motive
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jacob Burak
Categories: Feminism
Type: BOOK - Published: 1946 - Publisher:

Books about Motive
Rusistika
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Jacob Burak
Categories: Russian language
Type: BOOK - Published: 1990 - Publisher:

Books about Rusistika