Insanely Simple

In Insanely Simple, you’ll be a fly on the wall inside a conference room with Steve Jobs, and on the receiving end of his midnight phone calls.

Insanely Simple

Author: Ken Segall

Publisher: Penguin

ISBN: 1101572043

Page: 256

View: 941

To Steve Jobs, Simplicity was a religion. It was also a weapon. Simplicity isn’t just a design principle at Apple—it’s a value that permeates every level of the organization. The obsession with Simplicity is what separates Apple from other technology companies. It’s what helped Apple recover from near death in 1997 to become the most valuable company on Earth in 2011. Thanks to Steve Jobs’s uncompromising ways, you can see Simplicity in everything Apple does: the way it’s structured, the way it innovates, and the way it speaks to its customers. It’s by crushing the forces of Complexity that the company remains on its stellar trajectory. As ad agency creative director, Ken Segall played a key role in Apple’s resurrection, helping to create such critical marketing campaigns as Think different. By naming the iMac, he also laid the foundation for naming waves of i-products to come. Segall has a unique perspective, given his years of experience creating campaigns for other iconic tech companies, including IBM, Intel, and Dell. It was the stark contrast of Apple’s ways that made Segall appreciate the power of Simplicity—and inspired him to help others benefit from it. In Insanely Simple, you’ll be a fly on the wall inside a conference room with Steve Jobs, and on the receiving end of his midnight phone calls. You’ll understand how his obsession with Simplicity helped Apple perform better and faster, sometimes saving millions in the process. You’ll also learn, for example, how to: • Think Minimal: Distilling choices to a minimum brings clarity to a company and its customers—as Jobs proved when he replaced over twenty product models with a lineup of four. • Think Small: Swearing allegiance to the concept of “small groups of smart people” raises both morale and productivity. • Think Motion: Keeping project teams in constant motion focuses creative thinking on well-defined goals and minimizes distractions. • Think Iconic: Using a simple, powerful image to symbolize the benefit of a product or idea creates a deeper impression in the minds of customers. • Think War: Giving yourself an unfair advantage—using every weapon at your disposal—is the best way to ensure that your ideas survive unscathed. Segall brings Apple’s quest for Simplicity to life using fascinating (and previously untold) stories from behind the scenes. Through his insight and wit, you’ll discover how companies that leverage this power can stand out from competitors—and individuals who master it can become critical assets to their organizations.

Related Books:

Insanely Simple
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Ken Segall
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-04-26 - Publisher: Penguin

To Steve Jobs, Simplicity was a religion. It was also a weapon. Simplicity isn’t just a design principle at Apple—it’s a value that permeates every level of the organization. The obsession with Simplicity is what separates Apple from other technology companies. It’s what helped Apple recover from near death in
Insanely Simple
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Ken Segall
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-04-26 - Publisher: Penguin UK

'Simple can be harder than complex. You have to work hard to get your thinking clean to make it simple. But it's worth it in the end, because once you get there, you can move mountains' Steve Jobs, BusinessWeek, May 25, 1998 To Steve Jobs, Simplicity wasn't just a design
Insanely Simple
Language: en
Pages:
Authors: Ken Segall
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012 - Publisher:

Books about Insanely Simple
Insanely Simple
Language: ja
Pages: 317
Authors: Ken Segall
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-05-25 - Publisher:

Japanese edition of Insanely Simple: The Obsession That Drives Apple's Success. Ken Segall worked in Apple with Steve Jobs for 12 years, and their incessant drive to make things simple turned a failing company into the most valuable and admired company in history, again. In Japanese. Annotation copyright Tsai Fong
Simple
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Alan Siegel, Irene Etzkorn
Categories: Business & Economics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-06-06 - Publisher: Random House

Leading brand consultants Alan Siegel and Irene Etzkorn show you how to conquer complexity and bring clarity to business and daily life. Fans of Intuition Pumps or The Art of Thinking Clearly will find this book indispensable to clearing clutter from their minds and their working lives. For four decades,