The Complete Book of 1960s Broadway Musicals

Meredith Willson's score (his first since The Music Man in 1957) offered just one hum-dinger of a song (the show's only hit ... And the sequence in which Molly and Johnny give a big party in their Denver mansion was touching and joyous.

The Complete Book of 1960s Broadway Musicals

Author: Dan Dietz

Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

ISBN: 144223072X

Page: 622

View: 962

The book examines in specific detail every Broadway musical which opened during the seminal decade of the 1960s, a decade which encompassed traditional musicals (such as Hello, Dolly!) as well as iconoclastic ones (Hair). Besides technical information, the book includes extensive commentary for all 268 musicals which opened during the decade. It includes all New York City Center and Music Theatre of Lincoln Center revivals; New York City Opera revivals of Broadway musicals; productions of all pre-Broadway closings (musicals which closed either during New York previews or during pre-Broadway tryouts); all eight musicals which were produced at the 1964 New York World’s Fair; concert productions (usually of one-man or one-woman shows); and all imports which opened during the decade. The technical information includes details regarding cast and credits, plot, critical reviews, London productions, recordings, published scripts, and film versions.

Related Books:

Molly's Big Score
Language: en
Pages: 32
Authors: Katie Purcell
Categories: Juvenile Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-10-12 - Publisher: Bibliokid Publishing

Molly wants nothing more to score a goal for the soccer team, but just trying to kick the ball causes her to fall over. If only her legs worked as well as her brothers'. With the braces on her legs, Molly doesn't believe she'll ever be good at anything. Let
That First Special Kiss
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Gina Wilkins
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2011-07-15 - Publisher: Harlequin

WITH ONE KISS… Kelly Morrison went from being Shane Walker's best friend to his most desired woman! Now she longed for Shane in ways she hadn't realized—and that scared her. For Shane and his family were the closest to kin the orphaned beauty ever had. Could she risk losing her
The Big Parade
Language: en
Pages: 289
Authors: Dominic McHugh
Categories: Music
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-05-03 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

In the 1950s, Meredith Willson's The Music Man became the third longest running musical after My Fair Lady and The Sound of Music: a considerable achievement in a decade that saw the premieres of other popular works by Rodgers and Hammerstein and Lerner and Loewe, not to mention Frank Loesser's
Molly's Journey
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Sheila Newberry
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-03-10 - Publisher: Bonnier Publishing Fiction Ltd.

For fans of Katie Flynn and Sheila Jeffries, Molly's Journey is an uplifting novel from the Queen of family saga, and author of Bicycles and Blackberries, Sheila Newberry. 1906. High-spirited and unconventional, young Molly Sparkes is on the verge of a big adventure as she prepares to set sail from
The Complete Book of 1960s Broadway Musicals
Language: en
Pages: 622
Authors: Dan Dietz
Categories: Performing Arts
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-04-10 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

The book examines in specific detail every Broadway musical which opened during the seminal decade of the 1960s, a decade which encompassed traditional musicals (such as Hello, Dolly!) as well as iconoclastic ones (Hair). Besides technical information, the book includes extensive commentary for all 268 musicals which opened during the