Porn Carnival

'"--Elaine Kahn "This book presents a rich, wild, sometimes gritty panorama of life in the early 21st-century city, a post-crash terrain of precarious living and transactional intimacy.

Porn Carnival

Author: Rachel Rabbit White

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781732090026

Page: 176

View: 551

Poetry. In PORN CARNIVAL, the debut full-length collection by Rachel Rabbit White, hedonism and materialist critique join in an abject orgy of labor confessionals, group texts, and criminality. White's deliberate, dominating voice evokes a Plath-like dynamism turned on to queer pleasure and displeasure, indulgence and raison d'ĂȘtre, the bedevilments of a gay bitch on the pole. "Rachel Rabbit White is a state of being where beauty is crafted and exploded into new form of God. Vast violent ecstatic cumming Rachel has crafted a labyrinthine of poetic rumination resembling a heaven of sexy thorny sparking love."--Precious Okoyomon "Rachel Rabbit White's exquisite debut, PORN CARNIVAL, braids lumpen poetry and luxury communism into a delicate rope encircling its readers. Writing in the tradition of Edna St. Vincent Millay and Chelsey Minnis, White's poetics produce radical empathy for those who struggle in the margins and violently rejects the normalized oppression of status quo. Broken hearted but still turned on, PORN CARNIVAL is a book that keeps on going, bringing us a first collection that is truly 'poetry to impress the gods.'"--Elaine Kahn "This book presents a rich, wild, sometimes gritty panorama of life in the early 21st-century city, a post-crash terrain of precarious living and transactional intimacy. Sometimes funny, often dark, unafraid of abjection and extremity and equally unafraid of poetic power: these poems combine brilliant scene-making with psychological depth and specificity. Rachel Rabbit White offers a complex, dramatic, sometimes sardonic, often tender voicing: an exploration of consciousness and its whiplashes amidst ongoing social and sexual life."--Maureen Mclane

Related Books:

Porn Carnival
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Rachel Rabbit White
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12 - Publisher:

Poetry. In PORN CARNIVAL, the debut full-length collection by Rachel Rabbit White, hedonism and materialist critique join in an abject orgy of labor confessionals, group texts, and criminality. White's deliberate, dominating voice evokes a Plath-like dynamism turned on to queer pleasure and displeasure, indulgence and raison d'ĂȘtre, the bedevilments of
Porn Carnival
Language: en
Pages: 176
Authors: Rachel White
Categories: Poetry
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-12 - Publisher:

Poetry. LGBTQIA Studies. Women's Studies. PORN CARNIVAL: PARADISE EDITION brings a new bonus series of love poems to Rachel Rabbit White's much-acclaimed debut collection, additional poems take readers through both the mournful distances of incarceration, overdoses, rehabs, sex and the blissed out quotidian dramas of falling in love. In PORN
Cultural Criminology and the Carnival of Crime
Language: en
Pages: 192
Authors: Mike Presdee
Categories: Law
Type: BOOK - Published: 2003-09-02 - Publisher: Routledge

Cultural Criminology and the Carnival of Crime attempts to make sense of the current increase in violence, cruelty, hate and humiliation, which has come to permeate daily life. The text argues that an overly organised economic world has provoked a widespread desire for extreme, oppositional forms of popular and personal
Bridging Communities through Socially Engaged Art
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Alice Wexler, Vida Sabbaghi
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-03-20 - Publisher: Routledge

Promoting the expansion of art in society and education, this book highlights the significance of the arts as an instrument of social justice, inclusion, equity, and protection of the environment. Including twenty-seven diverse case studies of socially engaged art practice with groups like the Black Lives Matter movement, the LGBTQ
Performing Archives/Archives of Performance
Language: en
Pages: 495
Authors: Gunhild Borggreen, Rune Gade
Categories: Art
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-07-12 - Publisher: Museum Tusculanum Press

Performing Archives/Archives of Performance contributes to the ongoing critical discussions of performance and its disappearance, of the ephemeral and its reproduction, of archives and mediatized recordings of liveness. The many contributions by excellent scholars and artists from a broad range of interdisciplinary fields as well as from various locations in