The Boy with the Porcelain Blade

An ornate yet dark fantasy, with echoes of Scott Lynch, Robin Hobb and Jon Courtenay Grimwood.

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade

Author: Den Patrick

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 057513416X

Page: 320

View: 609

An ornate yet dark fantasy, with echoes of Scott Lynch, Robin Hobb and Jon Courtenay Grimwood. An original and beautifully imagined world, populated by unforgettable characters. A debut novel which garnered rave reviews on publication from fellow authors, bloggers and the likes of SFX magazine. Lucien de Fontein has grown up different. One of the mysterious and misshapen Orfano who appear around the Kingdom of Landfall, he is a talented fighter yet constantly lonely, tormented by his deformity, and well aware that he is a mere pawn in a political game. Ruled by an insane King and the venomous Majordomo, it is a world where corruption and decay are deeply rooted - but to a degree Lucien never dreams possible when he first discovers the plight of the 'insane' women kept in the haunting Sanatoria. Told in a continuous narrative interspersed with flashbacks we see Lucien grow up under the care of his tutors. We watch him forced through rigorous Testings, and fall in love, set against his yearning to discover where he comes from, and how his fate is tied to that of every one of the deformed Orfano in the Kingdom, and of the eerie Sanatoria itself.

Related Books:

The Boy with the Porcelain Blade
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Den Patrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2014-03-20 - Publisher: Hachette UK

An ornate yet dark fantasy, with echoes of Scott Lynch, Robin Hobb and Jon Courtenay Grimwood. An original and beautifully imagined world, populated by unforgettable characters. A debut novel which garnered rave reviews on publication from fellow authors, bloggers and the likes of SFX magazine. Lucien de Fontein has grown
The Erebus Sequence
Language: en
Pages: 1040
Authors: Den Patrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-05-18 - Publisher: Hachette UK

An ornate yet dark fantasy, with echoes of Mervyn Peake, Robin Hobb and Jon Courtenay Grimwood. An original and beautifully imagined world, populated by unforgettable characters. In a castle that is, itself, reminiscent of Gormenghast in its size and brooding presence a collection of young, flawed but resilient outsiders find
The Boy Who Wept Blood
Language: en
Pages: 400
Authors: Den Patrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-01-29 - Publisher: Hachette UK

With his rich evocation of the Italian Renaissance-like realm of Landfall, his uniquely appealing way with flawed yet empathic characters and his ability to write gripping scenes of both action and subterfuge, Den Patrick has already established himself as a new favourite for fans of Scott Lynch and Robin Hobb
The Girl on the Liar's Throne
Language: en
Pages: 320
Authors: Den Patrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-01-21 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Mixing Machiavellian intrigue and the high fantasy of authors like Scott Lynch and Robin Hobb, Den Patrick's fantasy novels, with their Renaissance Italy like setting have brought an enticing new flavour to the fantasy genre. In a castle that is, itself, reminiscent of Gormenghast in its size and brooding presence
Orcs War-Fighting Manual
Language: en
Pages: 144
Authors: Den Patrick
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013-08-15 - Publisher: Hachette UK

Written in the form of a soldier's manual on strategy, tactics and weapons THE ORCS WAR-FIGHTING MANUAL is an innovative and fun way for readers and gamers to add colour and excitement to their knowledge of fantasy's premier villains. Translated from the original Orcish the book contains details on Orc