The New Great Game

In the tradition of "The Prize," Kleveman gives readers the 21st-century chapter on the history, passion, and politics of oil and gas resources and the struggle to control them in a critical part of the world.

The New Great Game

Author: Lutz Kleveman

Publisher:

ISBN: 9781843541219

Page: 283

View: 426

The Caspian Region, lying south of Russia, west of China and north of Afghanistan, contains the world's largest untapped oil and gas resources. In the years between the death of the Soviet Union and September 11, 2001, oil companies and politicians have struggled to possess and develop these resources. Using a concept immortalised by Kipling in his novel Kim, Lutz Kleveman argues that there is now a new 'Great Game in the region, in with the US, Russia, China, India, Pakistan and Iran – most of which are nuclear powers – are competing. The New Great Game is an insightful and exacting portrait of a region in which there are few rules and where the rewards for victory are nothing less than power and prosperity in the new century.

Related Books:

The New Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 283
Authors: Lutz Kleveman
Categories: Geopolitics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004 - Publisher:

The Caspian Region, lying south of Russia, west of China and north of Afghanistan, contains the world's largest untapped oil and gas resources. In the years between the death of the Soviet Union and September 11, 2001, oil companies and politicians have struggled to possess and develop these resources. Using
Central Asia
Language: en
Pages: 385
Authors: R. A. Mullerson
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Routledge

This is an important analysis of a key but little-known region, in the wider context of world politics. Central Asia has huge oil and gas resources, divided between five independent states - Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Turkmenistan and Uzbekistan - each with their own problems and interests. The region is energy-rich
The Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 562
Authors: Peter Hopkirk
Categories: Afghan Wars
Type: BOOK - Published: 2001 - Publisher:

For nearly a century the two most powerful nations on earth - Victorian Britain and Tsarist Russia - fought a secret war in the lonely passes and deserts of Central Asia. Those engaged in this shadowy struggle called it 'The Great Game', a phrase immortalized in Kipling's Kim. When play
Great Game East
Language: en
Pages: 488
Authors: Bertil Lintner
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-08-01 - Publisher: Harper Collins

There was the 'Great Game', the complex political machinations of Victorian Britain and Tsarist Russia in the nineteenth century; and there was the 'New Great Game', the conflict between the Western powers and Russia and China over Central Asia's oil and natural resources. But there is another Great Game that's
The New Great Game
Language: en
Pages: 304
Authors: Lutz Kleveman
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007-12-01 - Publisher: Open Road + Grove/Atlantic

In the tradition of The Prize, Lutz Kleveman gives us the twenty-first-century chapter on the history, passion, and politics of oil and gas resources, and the struggle to control them in a critical part of the world. Using the concept of the "Great Game" that Rudyard Kipling immortalized in his