The Only Girl in the World

Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak.

The Only Girl in the World

Author: Maude Julien

Publisher: Little, Brown

ISBN: 9780316466622

Page: 288

View: 770

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into the ultimate survivor - raising her in isolation, tyrannizing her childhood and subjecting her to endless drills designed to "eliminate weakness." Maude learned to hold an electric fence for minutes without flinching, and to sit perfectly still in a rat-infested cellar all night long (her mother sewed bells onto her clothes that would give her away if she moved). She endured a life without heat, hot water, adequate food, friendship, or any kind of affectionate treatment. But Maude's parents could not rule her inner life. Befriending the animals on the lonely estate as well as the characters in the novels she read in secret, young Maude nurtured in herself the compassion and love that her parents forbid as weak. And when, after more than a decade, an outsider managed to penetrate her family's paranoid world, Maude seized her opportunity. By turns horrifying and magical, The Only Girl in the World is a story that will grip you from the first page and leave you spellbound, a chilling exploration of psychological control that ends with a glorious escape.

Related Books:

The Only Girl in the World
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Maude Julien
Categories: Biography & Autobiography
Type: BOOK - Published: 2017-12-12 - Publisher: Little, Brown

For readers of Room and The Glass Castle, a memoir to be read in one breathless sitting that will leave you astonished by the courage and creative power of even the most neglected soul. Maude Julien's parents were fanatics who believed it was their sacred duty to turn her into
If You Were the Only Girl
Language: en
Pages: 542
Authors: Anne Bennett
Categories: Families
Type: BOOK - Published: 2013 - Publisher:

When Lucy s father dies, she is forced to take a job in service as a scullery maid at Windthorpe House, home to the aristocratic Hetheringtons, who lost three of their sons in the Great War. When their only remaining son, Clive returns home, he and Lucy strike up an
The Only Man for Her
Language: en
Pages: 288
Authors: Kristi Gold
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2012-06-01 - Publisher: Harlequin

From the moment they meet, Matt Boyd knows Rachel Wainwright is The One. Doesn't matter that he's from the wrong side of town or that her family has bigger plans for her. They belong together—and they defy the odds to be with each other. Contrary to what everyone says, they
The Only Girl Left Alive
Language: en
Pages: 264
Authors: Susan Lund
Categories: Fiction
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-01-27 - Publisher: S. E. Lund

A serial child killer plays with authorities and plans his next kill... Investigative reporter Tess McClintock and FBI Special Agent Michael Carter track down clues in the most important cold case to them both -- the disappearance of Tess's friend Lisa Tate, who went missing from Michael's back yard almost
A Guide for Using Our Only May Amelia in the Classroom
Language: en
Pages: 48
Authors: Allison Morse-Griswold
Categories: Education
Type: BOOK - Published: 2004-02-23 - Publisher: Teacher Created Resources

Books about A Guide for Using Our Only May Amelia in the Classroom