The Utopia of Rules

An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

The Utopia of Rules

Author: David Graeber

Publisher: Melville House

ISBN: 1612195180

Page: 272

View: 817

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And is it really a cipher for state violence? To answer these questions, the anthropologist David Graeber—one of our most important and provocative thinkers—traces the peculiar and unexpected ways we relate to bureaucracy today, and reveals how it shapes our lives in ways we may not even notice…though he also suggests that there may be something perversely appealing—even romantic—about bureaucracy. Leaping from the ascendance of right-wing economics to the hidden meanings behind Sherlock Holmes and Batman, The Utopia of Rules is at once a powerful work of social theory in the tradition of Foucault and Marx, and an entertaining reckoning with popular culture that calls to mind Slavoj Zizek at his most accessible. An essential book for our times, The Utopia of Rules is sure to start a million conversations about the institutions that rule over us—and the better, freer world we should, perhaps, begin to imagine for ourselves.

Related Books:

The Utopia of Rules
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: David Graeber
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2016-02-23 - Publisher: Melville House

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And
The Utopia of Rules
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: David Graeber
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2015-02-24 - Publisher: Melville House

From the author of the international bestseller Debt: The First 5,000 Years comes a revelatory account of the way bureaucracy rules our lives Where does the desire for endless rules, regulations, and bureaucracy come from? How did we come to spend so much of our time filling out forms? And
Lost People
Language: en
Pages: 469
Authors: David Graeber
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: Indiana University Press

An epic account of the power of memory in Madagascar
Bullshit Jobs
Language: en
Pages: 368
Authors: David Graeber
Categories: History
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-02-07 - Publisher: Penguin Press

'Spectacular and terrifyingly true' Owen Jones 'Explosive' John McDonnell, New Statesman, Books of the Year 'Thought-provoking and funny' The Times Be honest: if your job didn't exist, would anybody miss it? Have you ever wondered why not? Up to 40% of us secretly believe our jobs probably aren't necessary. In
Possibilities
Language: en
Pages: 433
Authors: David Graeber
Categories: Political Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2007 - Publisher: AK Press

An anthropologist investigates the revolution of everyday life.