You Look Like a Thing and I Love You

A hilarious, transporting look under the hood of the technology that's changing the world - and why it's dumber than we think You Look Like a Thing and I Love You is one of the best pickup lines ever . . . according to an artificial ...

You Look Like a Thing and I Love You

Author: Janelle Shane

Publisher: Hachette UK

ISBN: 1472269004

Page: 272

View: 892

'I can't think of a better way to learn about artificial intelligence, and I've never had so much fun along the way' Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Originals and Option B AI is the technology of the future, but how does it actually work? A hilarious, transporting look under the hood of the technology that's changing the world - and why it's dumber than we think You Look Like a Thing and I Love You is one of the best pickup lines ever . . . according to an artificial intelligence trained by scientist Janelle Shane, creator of the popular blog AI Weirdness. She makes silly AIs that learn how to name paint colors, create the best recipes, and even flirt (badly) with humans - all to understand the technology that governs so much of our human lives. We rely on AI every day for recommendations, for rust AI with matters of life and death, on the road and in our hospitals. But how smart is AI really . . . and how does it solve problems, understand humans, and drive self-driving cars? This hilarious introduction to the most interesting science of our time, shows us how these programs learn, fail, and adapt - and how they reflect both the best and the worst of humanity.

Related Books:

You Look Like a Thing and I Love You
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Janelle Shane
Categories: Computers
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-11-05 - Publisher: Hachette UK

As heard on NPR's "Science Friday," discover the book recommended by Malcolm Gladwell, Susan Cain, Daniel Pink, and Adam Grant: an "accessible, informative, and hilarious" introduction to the weird and wonderful world of artificial intelligence (Ryan North). "You look like a thing and I love you" is one of the
You Look Like a Thing and I Love You
Language: en
Pages: 272
Authors: Janelle Shane
Categories: Science
Type: BOOK - Published: 2019-11-05 - Publisher: Hachette UK

'I can't think of a better way to learn about artificial intelligence, and I've never had so much fun along the way' Adam Grant, New York Times bestselling author of Originals and Option B AI is the technology of the future, but how does it actually work? A hilarious, transporting
The New Breed
Language: en
Pages: 256
Authors: Kate Darling
Categories: Technology & Engineering
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-04-20 - Publisher: Henry Holt and Company

For readers of The Second Machine Age or The Soul of an Octopus, a bold, exciting exploration of how building diverse kinds of relationships with robots—inspired by how we interact with animals—could be the key to making our future with robotic technology work. There has been a lot of ink
What Are the Chances of That?
Language: en
Pages: 336
Authors: Andrew Elliott
Categories: Mathematics
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021-08-02 - Publisher: Oxford University Press

What are the Chances of That? discusses chance and the importance of understanding how it affects our lives. It goes beyond a mathematical approach to the subject, showing how our thinking about chance and uncertainty has been shaped by history and culture, and only relatively recently by the mathematical theory
Citizen Science Fiction
Language: en
Pages: 232
Authors: Jerome Winter
Categories: Research
Type: BOOK - Published: 2021 - Publisher: Rowman & Littlefield

Citizen Science Fiction argues that science-fiction literature and media can engage and empower individuals to become active and critical participants in citizen science such that they can collaborate meaningfully in the scientific and technological communities, institutions, and industries that deeply shape their everyday lives.